Joan Lee Robinson – AKA Nannie –

I started a series of portraits of older generations in their own environment sitting alone on their chairs to represent the loneliness that this country lets their elderly go through. It has always amazed me how little time people spend with the older members of their families, and how very few signs of love and care they are given. Family or not, we should always take care of , watch out for, and spare a smile with them.

I was very lucky this Sunday, and Joan Lee Robinson – AKA Nannie –  and her family welcomed me into her environment. See, Nannie is struggling with a cancer that has now spread and has been given very little time. She welcomed me with a sweet smile, and a hug that I forced on her (did you think I was not going let her get away from it? ) She does not like to pose, and yet she sat there for me. Though, her eyes lit up when her 2 great-grandkids sat in her chair to play with her. That is all it takes, a few smiles and a hug, in order to make a difference in somebody’s life, no matter what life has brought to you.

Thank you Nannie, Missy and her family for sharing such a precious time with me. Love,

Sandra

If you know of anybody that would like to share a story with me and my camera and be part of my series please reach out! cifo@cifography.com

Fill that empty space for them. Never leave that I love you for tomorrow. Let them be part of your life.

Fill that empty space for them. Never leave that I love you for tomorrow. Let them be part of your life.

Joan Lee Robinson - AKA Nannie

Joan Lee Robinson - AKA Nannie

