Early bird gets the warm….

I got to the airport bright and early today. It was 6:30 am and there was this Tequila cart awaiting for me as I walked in through security. I have never been a big fan of tequila, but the gentleman there seemed so eager for me to do a tasting, and I had extra time to kill, so I figured “why not?” So, at 6:45 I was given a small introduction to tequila , and a not so small tasting of a wide variety of them. From commercial ones to not so commercial. From worms, to no warms. I learned what “caballito” is (shots) and between sips I listened to the difference of Mezcal and Tequila. About Tequila blanco (straight to the bottle), Tequila Reposado (0-11 months) , tequila Añejo (11 months to 2.5 years, and tequila EXTRA AÑEJO 2.5 -4 years. Then Mezcal, made from green agave and not blue as the tequila is. Mezcal Reposado 6-8 months, and Extra Reposado 11 months to 1.5 years, and no more.

After several tastings, perhaps too many, I have found my tequila, and it just so happens to come in a hand made bottle that I love. Bringing that back home.

But for now, I’m bringing another bottle to Cuba for my uncle, where I suspect Ill be doing a run tasting instead.

8:06 AM, I am so happy (no, not just the tequila’s fault) and excited to board on my flight to Cuba! ……..

20130926-075454.jpg

